Alex Mathias Quartet featuring Jake Hertzog (USA)

“Brilliant…Herzog is a tremendous guitar talent with a developing voice sure to garner widespread recognition” All About Jazz

“a thrilling, vigorous, robust tenor sax player” Irish Times

Presented with funding from the Music Network Performance and Touring Award

Alex Mathias (tenor saxophone)

Jake Herzog (guitar)

Damian Evans (bass)

Dominic Mullan (drums)

Award-winning saxophonist and composer Alex Mathias joins forces with critically acclaimed US guitarist Jake Hertzog, to present a blend of highly energetic original music, drawing on jazz, funk/fusion and other influences. Having met at the prestigious Berklee College of Music in Boston, from which they graduated in 2006, they have both gone on to form successful careers in their homelands and beyond.

Alex Mathias has performed around the globe in over a dozen countries, playing with bands such as The Commitments, The Republic of Loose, The RTÉ Concert Orchestra and the award-winning Dublin City Jazz Orchestra. He has made TV and Radio appearances with an array of national and international artists as well as his own groups. The Alex Mathias Quartet (“Best Young Band” of Cork Jazz Festival 2010) released their debut album Goin’ Roamin’ on Livenote Records in 2010 and it has since been featured on Aer Lingus in-flight entertainment and in the soundtrack to a recent US documentary for tourists visiting Ireland called The Local Way. Mathias has been described as having “…a style of writing based on an ethos where melody is triumphant, where everyone is welcome to sample the musical fare” (BBC Radio Ulster).

At the age of 20, Jake Hertzog became the youngest ever prize winner of the Montreux Jazz Guitar Competition in Switzerland (2006). Since then Jake has been active on the New York music scene, releasing three albums with his long-standing group The Jake Hertzog Trio. For three years Jake stood as musical director, lead guitarist and mentor for Nickelodeon’s The Naked Brothers Band stars, Nat and Alex Wolff. Jake is a monthly contributor to Guitar Player Magazine’s ‘Lessons’ section and has recently released an album with his own rock group, The Young Presidents.

Completing the Quartet are two of Ireland’s most in demand and versatile musicians, Damian Evans (bass) and Dominic Mullan (drums). Together they have performed with the ‘who’s who’ of Irish Jazz artists among many visiting international artists.

See and for videos, music and more.